Posts

Showing posts from September, 2015

Comics Industry Legends honored at Harvey Awards in Baltimore

Image
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND September 26 . . . Speeches and tributes extended the duration of The 28th Annual Harvey Awards well beyond midnight as several legends of the comics industry were honored and recognized for their many contributions to the art form.  The Harvey Awards are named after cartoonist, writer and editor Harvey Kurtzman (1924-1993).  The Harvey Awards have been honoring excellence in the comics industry since 1988 and have been announced at a dinner ceremony during the Baltimore Comic Con for several years now. The legends being recognized during the awards included writer/artists Jules Feiffer and the late Will Eisner, who  both received the Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame award which recognizes cartoonists for significant, historic and cultural impact.  The Dick Giordano Hero Initiative Humanitarian of the Year Award was presented to Dennis Kitchen, a pioneer of underground comics and also founder of the CBLDF (Comic Book Legal Defense Fund).  Artist Russ Heath, Jr. was pre…

More Day One Images at Baltimore Comic Con - Friday, September 25, 2015

Image

Baltimore Comic Con highlights - Day One - - Friday, September 25, 2015

Image
One of the first things I did after I arrived is purchase the 2015 Baltimore Comic Con Yearbook. It’s a hardcover edition with more than 60 prints inside by various artists. This year’s theme celebrates David Petersen’s Mouse Guard.  It’s a beautiful book with gorgeous art and well worth the $20 asking price.I spent the opening hours of the con getting artist autographs for the yearbook. The Baltimore Comic Con offers a Yearbook Scavenger Hunt.  If you collect enough signatures on a scorecard you receive a bonus of one print by one of five featured artists.  If you are lucky enough to get all 60 signatures, you receive all five prints.I also attended three different panel presentations.1) Living In Harmony: Digital and Print.2) Dynamite Entertainment news3)  IDW news.I will share details from each of these panels in upcoming features in the coming days.

SUPERMANSION superhero comedy debuts on free CRACKLE TV in October

Image
Comic Book Resources has made the first episode of Supermansion available for viewing on their site.  Check the link here . . . . .http://www.comicbookresources.com/article/exclusive-watch-supermansions-full-first-episode-starring-bryan-cranston?utm_campaign=supermansion-debuts-the-flash-walking-dead-angry-birds-more&utm_medium=email&utm_source=daily_newsletterI have not been able to find a superhero cartoon that consistently satisfies and makes worth watching on a regular basis.  That may change once Supermansion debuts in October.  I watched the first episode and laughed several times.  This is well written, clever, and fun to watch the stop motion animation.  Check it out.

1950's EC-era dark crime series to debut in December: SEDUCTION OF THE INNOCENT

Image
DYNAMITE ANNOUNCES NEW SEDUCTION OF THE INNOCENT
COMIC BOOK SERIES BY ANDE PARKS AND ESTEVE POLLS

NOTE: Dynamite Entertainment deserves a lot of credit for continuing to come up with this unique, different and intriguing series ideas.  We love that the title is a reference to the non-fiction alleged expose that spawned the formation of the Comics Code Authority and also the downfall of the trend-setting EC Comics line. from the official press release . . . . . . . .

September 21, 2015, Mt. Laurel, NJ: Dynamite Entertainment is proud to announce that Ande Parks and Esteve Polls, the acclaimed creative team of The Death of Zorro and The Lone Ranger, will reunite for an all-new comic book series, Seduction of the Innocent. Gritty and sometimes depraved crime fiction in the tradition of James Elroy and EC-era crime and horror comics, the series will debut in December 2015 with cover artwork by Eisner Award-winning artist Francesco Francavilla ( Afterlife with Archie). Set in the San Francisco …

THE PRECINCT: New Steampunk Sci-Fi Comic Book Series debuts in December

Image
EDITOR”S NOTE: We have a weak spot for good steampunk tales. This looks promising.        from the official press release . . . . .


September 14, 2015, Mt. Laurel, NJ: Dynamite Entertainment is proud to announce the upcoming December release of The Precinct #1, the first chapter in an all-new steampunk science fiction comic book series written by Frank J. Barbiere ( Avengers World) and featuring interior artwork by Crizam Zamora ( Vampirella: Prelude to Shadows). 

In the sprawling, steampunk metropolis known as The Big City, it's up to one group to keep the peace and uphold the law: the officers of The Precinct! Mortimer Hill is a veteran officer who has busted his fair share of criminals, but when mechanical monsters start causing trouble, he'll need to use all his wits (and brawn) to get to the heart of the mystery. Along with his new partner, a representative from the enigmatic Alchemy Academy, Mort will face the biggest case of his career... and the most dangerous! "I…

Indie publisher opens submissions for new short story fantasy anthology

Image
ATTENTION ALL WOULD-BE WRITERS:  If you enjoy the fantasy-heroic adventure tale, here is an opportunity to craft your own short story set inside the world created here  (an apparent tribute to Edgar Rice Burroughs rich tales).  Full details below, from the official press release . . . . . . . .FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEPRO SE PRODUCTIONS OPENS SUBMISSION CALL FOR
JAMES R. TUCK HOLLOW EARTH ANTHOLOGY!
Author James R. Tuck, creator of Deacon Chalk and co-author of Titan Books’ new occult Robin Hood series, recently launched his Hollow Earthseries with Champion of Hollow Earth from Pro Se Productions. Now publisher and author announce an open call for the next volume in the series, an anthology of stories set in Tuck’s Hyperborea.  Heroes of Hollow Earth is now open for proposals and submissions.

“When you have a creator,” says Tommy Hancock, Editor in Chief of Pro Se Productions, “like James R. Tuck crafting an entire world, it’s a truly awesome thing.  What makes it even better is the chance t…

Baltimore Comic Con: Things To Know When You Go

Image
Baltimore Comic-Con News You Can Usefrom the official press release . . . . .
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND - September 19, 2015 - The 2015 Baltimore Comic-Con is just around the corner. We know we're providing a lot of information in a short period, but we wanted to make sure you have all of the important details about the show!
Of course, as always, we are at the Baltimore Convention Center, and this year's show takes place the weekend of September 25-27, 2015. If you haven't bought your General Admission, VIP, or Harvey Awards tickets yet, doing so now will avoid additional lines upon arrival. If you cannot purchase tickets until coming to the show for any reason, box office hours begin at 8am ET Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. If you came to the show last year, we are in the same location in 2015. If you are new to the show, or missed us last year (we forgive you), see the diagram above for details on where to enter.ATMs will be available in numerous places throughout the convention …
Image
ComiXology and Fantagraphics Books Launch Series of Cartoonist-Focused Bundles with Exclusive Content

Each bundle will include exclusive mini comics not available digitally elsewhere




September 18, 2015 New York, NY Hot on the heels of Fantagraphics renewing distribution on comiXology and expanding comics and graphic novels on Amazon's Kindle store, Fantagraphics and comiXology have teamed up to release a series of cartoonist-focused bundles every Friday with exclusive content! Today sees the launch of four bundles by acclaimed cartoonists, Jaime Hernandez, Chuck Forsman, Tony Millionaire and Peter Bagge available for a limited time across comiXology's entire platform with a new bundle released every Friday. Each cartoonist bundle will include an exclusive mini comic that is not available digitally anywhere else.
"I appreciate comiXology's commitment to experimenting with different price points and packages in an attempt to better serve both fans and publishers, and as a…

Irresistible

Image
TPB:  Incorruptible Vol. 1 Writer:  Mark Waid Artist: Jean Diaz Price:  $16.99
Incorruptible is the companion book to Mark Waid’s Irredeemable.  While the Plutonian is a hero who has become a villain, Max Damage is a villain who is trying to be a hero.  Max’s origin story is more front-loaded than the Plutonian’s, allowing more of the story to take place in the present and seeming to give Incorruptible a more substantial feel than Irredeemable. 
Max Damage was a powered supervillian who became more and more invulnerable the longer he stayed awake.  Along with his underage sidekick, Jailbait, Max used to commit murder, robbery and terrorism with abandon.  However when the Plutonian showed up to Max’s last crime scene instead of stopping Max, he instead slaughtered 3.5 million innocent people – the majority of the inhabitants of a major city. 
Shaken to his very core, Max resolves to turn his life around and fight to stop the Plutonian in any way he can.  In the first trade, he seeks out t…

The Schedule of Panels for Baltimore Comic Con 2015

Image
Baltimore Comic-Con 2015 Announces Panel ProgrammingBALTIMORE, MARYLAND - September 16, 2015 - The 16th annual Baltimore Comic-Con returns to the Baltimore Convention Center the weekend of September 25-27, 2015. Tickets are available now for General Admission, VIP, and Harvey Awards! As is the case every year, we have received a steady stream of requests for our Panel schedule -- details are now ready for release, and it looks fantastic! Friday will feature spotlights on David Petersen's Mouse Guard, Marvel Comics' New Mutants, featuring a number of creator contributors to the classic series, and numerous panels featuring some of the industry's largest publishers including Dynamite Entertainment, IDW, and Valiant Entertainment.Saturday, you can go to Batman Day Baltimore Comic-Con style, publisher panels including Marvel, BOOM! Studios, Valiant Entertainment, and Action Lab Entertainment, and spotlight panels on Charles Soule, Jules Feiffer, Russ Heath, and Guest of Honor M…